Select Profiles of Tanzanian Universities


Among the somewhat older universities in Tanzania and founded in 1998, the St. Augustine University of Tanzania attracts students from Tanzania and elsewhere, particularly the countries of East and Central Africa: Kenya, Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Burundi, Malawi, and Zambia.                   

SAUT, located in Mwanza has over 10,000 students and this number increases gradually every academic year. It offers Certificate, Advanced Diploma, Bachelors and Masters programs. The environment is very nurturing and the university inculcates holistic values into every student.

More here http://www.saut.ac.tz/


Ranked best by AcademyRank in 2013 among Tanzanian universities, the University of Dar es Salaam was established in 1970. With 5 campuses in Dar es Salaam, it operates through ten faculties. Enrollment capacity ranges between 15,000-20,000 students.

Course levels offered include certificates, diplomas, bachelors, masters and doctorate degrees while  areas of study span several disciplines including arts & humanities, business & social sciences, language & cultural, medicine & health, engineering and science & technology.

More here https://udsm.ac.tz


Recently founded and among the largest universities in Tanzania and East Africa, the University of Dodoma was formally started in 2007 by government charter. Six colleges are planned upon full operation.

·         College of Education

·         College of Humanities and Social Sciences

·         College of Informatics and Virtual Education

·         College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

·         College of Health and Allied Sciences

·         College of Earth Sciences

More here https://www.udom.ac.tz/


The Sokoine University of Agriculture was formed in 1984 by act of parliament. SUA presently has four faculties: the Faculty of Agriculture, the Faculty of Forestry and Nature Conservation, the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and the Faculty of Science.

Located in Morogoro, SUA has four campuses, 2 in Morogoro, one in Arusha and another in Tanga. With over 7,000 students, 30 undergraduate and 45 postgraduate degree programs, SUA is the only university offering bachelor programs in agriculture.  

More here https://www.sua.ac.tz/


The Hubert Kairuki Memorial University was initially founded in 1997 as the Mission Mikocheni Health and Education Network (MMHEN). HKMU is accredited and chartered through TCU (the Tanzania Commission for Universities).

The campus is a short distance from the Dar es Salaam City Centre. The first recognized private university in Tanzania, it’s also recognized by the WHO. It offers programs in Health Sciences.

More here http://www.hkmu.ac.tz/


The Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences was established in 2007. MUHAS has two campuses; Muhimbili Campus and Mloganzila Campus, the former in Dar es Salaam while the latter is under construction outside Dar es Salaam.

MUHAS has several programs in basic, clinical and allied health sciences. These are tutored in five Schools and one academic Institute of the University. The University offers bachelors, masters and doctorate programs and enrolls between 2,000 and 3,000 students every year.

More here https://www.muhas.ac.tz/


The University of Mzumbe was established in 2001. Mzumbe boasts two schools: Business and Public Administration And Management along with three faculties: Law, Science And Technology and Social Sciences.

Mzumbe enroll around 5,000 students yearly and have 2 campuses in Dar es Salaam and Mbeya. 

More here https://site.mzumbe.ac.tz/

Visit https://www.4icu.org/tz/ for more university profiles.